Oasis’ Liam Gallagher: ‘F*** the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame’

Liam Gallagher: Pablo Gallardo/Redferns (Getty)
Published on:

Earlier today the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced their nominees for 2024 induction. Among those nominated, there’s Ozzy Osbourne, the late Sinéad O’Connor, Eric B. and Rakim, Peter Frampton, Oasis, and more.

Writing about his Rock Hall nomination on social media, Osbourne posted the following: “I’m deeply honored to receive this news from the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame. To be one of the few musicians who’s being considered for a second entry, now as a solo artist, is something I could never have imagined. After 44 years as a solo artist the fact that I can continue to record music and receive this recognition is something I am incredibly proud of.”

But whereas Osbourne is honored to be nominated, Oasis frontman Liam Gallagher has quite a different take. Upon finding out that his band is nominated for potential induction into the Rock Hall, Gallagher shared the following brief comment:

“Fuck the Rock n Roll hall of fame its full of BUMBACLARTS LG x”

In response to Gallagher’s post, an Oasis fan replied and expressed to other fans the importance of voting for the band. In response to this fan, Gallagher doubled down on his disinterest, writing, “Don’t waste your time Rkid as much as it’s appreciated it’s all a load of bollox”.

Another user wrote to Gallagher, “do you really not want oasis to win? like truly? i fully understand why you aren’t interested but we really really want this for you and noel, oasis deserves it like no other band”.

Gallagher replied, “I appreciate that you do but I honestly feel there’s something very fishy about those awards”. Maybe the funniest response was Gallagher flat-out saying “You know it I don’t need some wank award by some geriatric in a cowboy hat.”

What do you make of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame? Other artists who have also slammed the institution are Iron Maiden’s Bruce Dickinson and Slipknot’s Corey Taylor.

Below is the full list of nominations for 2024 induction:

  • Mary J. Blige
  • Mariah Carey
  • Cher
  • Dave Matthews Band
  • Eric B. & Rakim
  • Foreigner
  • Peter Frampton
  • Jane’s Addiction
  • Kool & the Gang
  • Lenny Kravitz
  • Oasis
  • Sinéad O’Connor
  • Ozzy Osbourne
  • Sade
  • A Tribe Called Quest