Spirit Adrift Announce Long Awaited New Album, Drop Crushing New Single ‘Death Won’t Stop Me’

Published on:

It’s been quite a while, but Texas metal mainstays Spirit Adrift are finally back and ready to bring the world to its knees. The band has announced the release of their long-awaited new record Ghost At The Gallows, and released the album’s first single “Death Won’t Stop Me.’

Recorded at Electrical Audio in Chicago by Sanford Parker,  Red Nova Ranch in Texas by Jeff Hensen, and mixed and mastered by legendary producer Zeuss, Ghost At The Gallows encapsulates all of the qualities that Spirit Adrived have been honing to perfection since Nate Garrett founded the project in 2015. At the same time, it speaks deeply to the very human experiences of grief, loss, and longing.

“Subconsciously, each album I do tends to have a theme or make a point,” says Garrett in a press release. “I didn’t realize it when I was writing, but the new album seems to encapsulate the grieving process. I realized when I was done with it that lyrically all the stages of grief are present. It’s a way to mourn, it’s a way to grieve, to take painful things that happen in our lives and make something powerful and positive out of it. That’s been the goal with this band from day one.”

To celebrate the announcement of Ghost At The Gallows, Spirit Adrift have unleashed the album’s first single, the aptly titled “Death Won’t Stop Me.” If it’s propulsive riffs and head banging throb is any indication of what’s to come, we are all in for a serious treat.

“Spirit Adrift’s gimmick is simple: there is no gimmick. Just great songs, great heavy riffs, catchy parts that make you want to bang your head and uplifting parts that make you want to fly into the sky,” says Garrett.

Ghosts At The Gallows will be released on August 18 via Century Media.

Track List:

  1. Give Her To The River
  2. Barn Burner
  3. Hanged Man’s Revenge
  4. These Two Hands
  5. Death Won’t Stop Me
  6. I Shall Return
  7. Siren Of The South
  8. Ghost At The Gallows


Spirit Adrift Released A Killer Cover Of Pantera's "Hollow"

Watch: Nate Garrett Of Spirit Adrift Gushes Over Sepultura And Shares His Favorite Roadrunner Records Releases

The New Age Of Metal: 20 Bands + Artists Redefining Heavy Music