SOAD’s Serj Tankian Announces New EP That Can Be Viewed Via AR Technology

Photo credit: Travis Shinn
Published on:

While the chances of getting a new System of a Down album any time soon may be slim, we at least are getting new music from band frontman Serj Tankian. As of today, Serj has announced that he has a new EP coming out! The title of this release is Perplex Cities, and a special music video has been released for the first single off the EP, this song being “Pop Imperialism.”

Per a press release associated with this news, Serj shared the following:

“This whole collection of songs within Perplex Cities is a completely different sound than what I’ve done before. More electronic, subtle and deeper in terms of its layers of presentation musically. Perplex Cities gives off an aura that is unique and unlike my previous releases”.

He later went on to add:

“I’m always trying to create new and interesting ways to connect with people via my music. We made some amazing videos for the last EP Elasticity, so I wanted to try something different for Perplex Cities. I love the idea of appearing in the room with someone listening to my music. It’s intimate, fun, and different.”

Up until the EP’s official release on streaming services, each song can be enjoyed via the Arloopa app, which will offer each song via AR technology (augmented reality)! You can check out the AR version of “Pop Imperialism” via the Arloopa app now; over the next few weeks, each other track from this new Serj Tankian EP will become available to view via AR technology.

Perplex Cities will be released on streaming services come October 21st. Below, you can check out a video that features Serj trying out the AR technology with that of the “Pop Imperialism” video. We have also included the tracklist associated with Perplex Cities, as well as the cover artwork for the EP.

Perplex Cities tracklist:

  1. Pop Imperialism
  2. The Race
  3. I Spoke Up
  4. Rumi Loves His Cars
  5. Forgive Me Father