What Year Is This: Stabbing Westward Are Back With Their First Album in 20 Years

With the crest of the nu-metal revival, it feels like all of the ’90s bands that metalheads once loved, and then loudly swore they never cared for are, making a comeback. The guilty pleasures of old are becoming the elitist musical pillars of today, with no band too dated or obscure to revive their angsty careers. And now, the angstiest of them all have decided to make a comeback: Stabbing Westward have announced their first new album in 20 years, and have dropped the first single.

For those of you who might not know or remember, Stabbing Westward were an industrial nu-metal band from the mid-to-late-’90s, whose music was entirely preoccupied with how much the members — or at least vocalist/guitarist Christopher Hall — hated themselves and felt miserable. Their big singles included the alternative break-up anthem “What Do I Have To Do?,” the danceable “Save Yourself,” and a surprisingly perfect cover of New Order’s “Bizarre Love Triangle.”

Now, the band have announced their new album Chasing Ghosts, their first since their 2001 self-titled album. The announcement comes with a first single, “I Am Nothing,” which is about, wait for it, the band’s members — or maybe just Hall — hating themselves and feeling miserable.

“It seems like we’ve been working on this album for a long time, trying to get it just right,” says keyboard player and programmer Walter Flakus. “With the help of John Fryer and COP International, everything fell into place. We are so excited for the world to finally hear the album. The single ‘I Am Nothing’ is just the tip of the iceberg.”

“It’s great to be back,” adds Chris Hall, “and working with John Fryer and Tom Baker again was awesome and felt like making a pure old-school Stabbing Westward album. I am excited to see how people will receive the new songs.”

Check out “I Am Nothing” below:

Chasing Ghosts comes out March 18th, 2022, via COP International Records, and is available for preorder. Check out the full tracklisting and cover art below:

  1. I Am Nothing
  2. Damaged Goods
  3. Cold
  4. Push
  5. Wasteland
  6. Ctrl Z
  7. Crawl
  8. Dead & Gone
  9. Ghost
  10. The End


Words by Chris Krovatin