Video: Watch Mudvayne Play Their First Show In 12 Years

Published on:

Fans rejoiced this past April when it was announced that nu-metal outsiders Mudvayne would finally be reuniting for a series of festival dates. The flames of excitement were only fanned when the band shared rehearsal footage ahead of the shows this past July. Now, Mudvayne have played their first live date in 12 years, and there’s video to prove it.

As you’ll see in the footage below, Mudvayne took the stage at this weekend’s Inkcarceration Festival on Saturday, September 11th, to the overwhelming excitement of fans. Frontman Chad Gray appeared in the facepaint worn early in the band’s career, though he traded his traditional overalls for what looks sort of like a denim spacesuit, then a full-on harlequin outfit, and finally the get-up in which fans are so used to seeing him.

Gray also offered some words of encouragement to fans in the face of the COVID pandemic, saying, “Apparently, we are back from the fucking dead. What a fucking great, bunch of crazy-ass people to come back to…When the bullshit fucking COVID first happened, everything was going away, my brain was spiraling down the rabbit hole, and there was no hope for anything living or dying, or when the next show was coming, and guess what? We fucking made it.

“That’s a testament and a tribute to all the motherfucking metalheads on the fucking planet. We fucking did it. I know we’re still deep in this shit, but we are going to get through this shit together. You know that, right? As human beings, we are motherfucking resilient. The entire world — doesn’t matter the race, creed, religion — we are all fighting together, as humanity. I told myself since the beginning, we are going to get through this, and when we do, it is going to be the biggest fist-in-the-air fuck-you to everything.”

Check out Mudvayne’s full setlist and fan-shot footage of their performance below:

1. Not Falling
2. -1
3. Death Blooms
4. Internal Primates Forever
5. Silenced
6. A New Game
7. Prod
8. A Cinderella Story
9. Dull Boy
10. World So Cold
11. Determined
12. Nothing To Gein
13. Happy?
14. Dig


Words by Chris Krovatin