Wolves In The Throne Room Announce New Album, Release Eerie First Single “Mountain Magick”

Unsplash/Yvette de Wit
Published on:

Last we heard from Cascadian black metallers Wolves In The Throne Room was 2017’s powerful Thrice Woven, whose elemental occultism was a strong return to form for the band following their dalliance into ambient music. Now, WITTR are back, having announced a new album and dropped its enthralling first single.

Wolves In The Throne Room’s latest will be titled Primordial Arcana, and will drop August 20th via Relapse Records. The record was written, performed and recorded by founding brothers Aaron and Nathan Weaver alongside guitarist Kody Keyworth. The first single from the record, “Mountain Magick,” definitely continues where Thrice Woven left off, but has perhaps a slightly lighter touch than that record. The metal is up front here, but doesn’t have quite as much buzzsaw edge, instead going hard in the echos and ambience. That said, one would be hard pressed to find a much steelier solo than the one right in the middle of the track.

With the single comes a new music video, featuring the members of Wolves In The Throne Room exploring the wilderness surrounding their Pacific Northwestern home in various states of occult ritual dress.

“’Mountain Magick’ was shot in the northern reaches of the Olympic Mountains and the ancient forests that shroud the foothills,” says the band. “We wrote the story, created the costumes, shot the footage and did the editing ourselves, so it is a true product of our hearts and souls.  Creating our own videos has been a long standing dream and now It’s very exciting to bring these Visions into the Cinematic Realm.”

Check out “Mountain Magick” below:

Wolves In The Throne Room’s Primordial Arcana is available for preorder now. Check out the full tracklisting and cover art below:

  1. Mountain Magick
  2. Spirit of Lightning
  3. Through Eternal Fields
  4. Primal Cham (Gift of Fire)
  5. Underworld Aurora
  6. Masters of Rain and Storm
  7. Eostre
  8. Skyclad Passage (Bonus Track)


Words by Chris Krovatin