At The Gates Triumphantly Return With Epic New Single “Spectre of Extinction”

Unsplash/Yvette de Wit
Published on:

Earlier this month, Swedish melodeath titans At The Gates announced that they’d be releasing a new album titled The Nightmare of Being later this year. Now, the band have dropped the first single from that record, “Spectre of Extinction,” and damn does it go big.

While most fans are used to At The Gates exploding into every track, the band take their time with “Spectre of Extinction,” and to great effect. The song’s intro is a towering build-up of guitar harmonies that harkens back to such classics as Judas Priest’s “Hellion” and Metallica’s “Battery.” Sure, the track definitely lights up into a charging melodeath number later on, but that opening sets the tone for the rest of the song, which feels a little more looming than your usually ATG ripper.

“It is always very hard to choose which song to release to the public first,” says frontman Tomas Lindberg, “especially with this album having so many layers and textures. We did feel, however, that this, the opening track of the record, represented the overall feel of the album. It has the musical depths that you would expect from an At The Gates track, and still carries that intensity and urgency that we have always tried to get across with our music.

“For the video, it was wonderful to be able to continue the work with the mighty Patric Ullaeus, as he understands our vision with the music and is willing to go all the way to portray the song’s inner dimensions. I think he did that excellently with this one and I’m very proud of the result. The lyrics deal with humanity’s will and how that clashes with our consciousness, and our knowledge of our mortality. Enjoy!”

You can check out the track below. The video airs at noon EST today, so keep your eyes on the link after the track.

At The Gates’ The Nightmare of Being comes out June 2nd on Century Media, and is available for preorder. Check out the full tracklisting and cover art below:

1. Spectre of Extinction
2. The Paradox
3. The Nightmare of Being
4. Garden of Cyrus
5. Touched by the White Hands of Death
6. The Fall into Time
7. Cult of Salvation
8. The Abstract Enthroned
9. Cosmic Pessimism
10. Eternal Winter of Reason