John Carpenter: This Year’s ‘Halloween Kills’ Is “Brilliant…The Ultimate Slasher”

Published on:

Last month, horror fans got their first look at Michael Myers in Halloween Kills, the upcoming sequel to the critically-acclaimed 2018 reboot of the Halloween franchise. Now, in a new interview, director John Carpenter, who created the first Halloween, discussed his new album, and offered some high praise for Halloween Kills.

Speaking to Entertainment Weekly, Carpenter discussed his upcoming new album Lost Themes III, saying, “It’s a lot of improvisation. Somebody has an idea, a sketch, a bass-line, a chord, a snatch of a melody, and we just start working on it. I have a home studio with a lot of great electronic sounds and that’s how we do it.

“First of all, I’m a 73-year-old guy,” he continues, “I’ve had a career directing movies, which is coal miner-hard, and this is a joy. I get to play with the son and my godson. We have a rock and roll-type type band. A bunch of guitars and drums. This is the greatest!”

When it came time to talk about Halloween Kills, Carpenter was pretty unequivocal: “It’s brilliant. It’s the ultimate slasher. I mean, there’s nothing more than this one. Wow! Man.”

Michael Myers returns in Halloween Kills on October 15th, 2021. Check out the teaser trailer below:

Of course, violent slashers and terrifying synthwave aren’t John Carpenter’s only passions. It turns out he also loves Japanese pop metal!

In a recent interview, Carpenter was asked about whether or not he was a fan of hard rock and metal, to which the infamous director responded, “I am a fan. I love Metallica. But you know, my life will be complete if I get endorsed by the Japanese group BABYMETAL. I love them! They’re so fabulous.”

When asked if he’d collaborate with the Japanese pop-metal act, Carpenter replied, “I would love it.”

Lost Themes III: Alive After Death comes out February 5th, 2021, and is available for preorder. Check out the full tracklisting for the record below:

  1. Alive After Death
  2. Weeping Ghost
  3. Dripping Blood
  4. Dead Eyes
  5. Vampire’s Touch
  6. Cemetery
  7. Skeleton
  8. Turning the Bones
  9. The Dead Walk
  10. Carpathian Darkness


Words by Chris Krovatin

Want more head-banging content?
Join our email list to get the best metal news and content delivered right to your inbox daily.
By submitting my information, I agree to receive personalized updates and marketing messages from The Pit based on my information, interests, activities, website visits and device data and in accordance with the Privacy Policy. I understand that I can opt-out at any time by emailing