Cannibal Corpse Release Full Details For 15th Album, Welcome Erik Rutan As Their New Guitarist

Published on:

Yesterday, death metal goremongers Cannibal Corpse confirmed the title for their upcoming 15th studio album while premiering a new track via SiriusXM’s Liquid Metal. Now, the band have revealed the full details for the record, and have made the track available to the world.

Cannibal Corpse’s latest will be titled Violence Unimagined, and will drop April 16th via Metal Blade Records. The first single from the album, “Inhumane Harvest,” can be heard below (and should be, because it’s a fucking rager).

“It really follows the path we’ve been going down for a few years now,” says Cannibal Corpse bassist Alex Webster of the album, as reported by The PRP. “I think we approach the writing in a similar way most every time: each of us try to write the heaviest, most memorable songs we can. We want each song to have its own identifiable character. Showing my age, I like to say you can ‘drop the needle’ on any point of one of our albums and quickly tell which song you’re listening to.”

Part of the band’s announcement is that Erik Rutan, famed metal producer, former Morbid Angel guitarist, and frontman for death metal legends Hate Eternal, has joined Cannibal Corpse as their new guitar player following the departure of guitarist Pat O’Brien.

“I think the most noticeable difference on this record will be the addition of Erik to the band,” said Webster. “He wrote three full songs for the record, music and lyrics, and his song writing and guitar playing have added something new, and I think his musical style integrated into ours very well.

“He’s a great friend of ours, so on a personal level, he’s been a perfect fit, as we knew he would be. Beyond that, he’s one of the hardest working people I know, in music or otherwise, and he maintains a high energy, positive demeanor in challenging situations where other people might go in a negative direction. This energy and great attitude rubs off on the rest of us as well. That’s really a perfect situation to have when you add someone to a band, or any kind of team: someone who’s great at what they do, and also inspires the people around them.”

Listen to “Inhumane Harvest” below:

Meanwhile, the band has revealed the uncensored cover art for the album by longtime artist Vincent Locke…and Jesus fucking Christ, Cannibal haven’t chilled out with age.

Cannibal Corpse’s Violence Unimagined comes out April 16th via Metal Blade Records, and is available for preorder. Check out the tracklisting below.

1. Murderous Rampage
2. Necrogenic Resurrection
3. Inhumane Harvest
4. Condemnation Contagion
5. Surround, Kill, Devour
6. Ritual Annihilation
7. Follow The Blood
8. Bound And Burned
9. Slowly Sawn
10. Overtorture
11. Cerements Of The Flayed


Words by Chris Krovatin