Gatecreeper Will Surprise-Release a New Album Tomorrow

Published on:

Right now, Gatecreeper might be the most talked-about death metal band on the planet. The Arizona quintet have risen to greater and greater acclaim on each subsequent release, with 2019’s Deserted vaulting them to new levels of underground fame. Given how big they’ve gotten, these guys could build up a massive hype roll-out for a new album — which is why it’s pretty awesome to learn that the band are surprise-releasing a new album tomorrow!

Gatecreeper’s new record will be titled An Unexpected Reality, which is fitting given the year we had. The album drops via Closed Casket Activities, and according to frontman Chase Mason, thought it features eight songs, it’s more of an EP. But perhaps most interesting is that the band decided to shake up their traditionally mid-paced tempo and place the record at both sides of the spectrum, with the first seven tracks going fast and furious, and the final one sprawling out across a slow death-march. For some fans, this will be the first time they’ve ever heard a Gatecreeper song with a blastbeat.

“I think the social media environment has just fried our attention spans,” says Mason. “Trying to hold someone’s attention for two or three months with a typical album roll-out doesn’t seem feasible with everything else currently going on in the world….It’s meant to be listened to as a whole, so we didn’t wanna break it up or release a couple songs ahead of time as ‘singles’ or whatever. We also didn’t wanna treat it like it’s our next full-length. Because it’s not.”

Check out the full tracklisting and cover art for the album below:

  1. Starved
  2. Sick of Being Sober
  3. Rusted Gold
  4. Imposter Syndrome
  5. Amputation
  6. Depraved Not Deprived
  7. Superspreader
  8. Emptiness

Gatecreeper’s An Unexpected Reality comes out tomorrow, January 13th, and will be available for preorder from Closed Casket Activities.


Words by Chris Krovatin