Eyehategod Release Filthy New Track “Fake What’s Yours”

Photo by Robb Duchemin
Published on:

How a band as hostile and ugly-sounding as NOLA’s Eyehategod have survived all these years is anyone’s guess, but we’re glad they have. The sludge pioneers always deliver their promise of making nasty, hard-hitting alley-core that makes squares gag and dirtbags punch the air. Now, the band have released a new single, “Fake What’s Yours,” and it keeps up their incredible legacy of sonic grossness.

What might surprise some listeners upon their first playthrough of “Fake What’s Yours” is the production. Eyehategod songs often sound like their recorded through a pillowcase full of weed, but on this track Mike IX Williams’ vocals are way out front, with every shriek and crackle audible to the naked ear. The same can be said for Jimmy Bower’s guitars, which sound clearer and harsher than ever before. Somehow, though, this makes the song come off as all the more threatening, not buried in the nostalgia of old albums but thrust shrieking into the audience’s face. It’s a fitting addition to the band’s already sterling catalog (if you’d call it that).

“‘Fake What’s Yours‘ is the second single from our new album, A History Of Nomadic Behavior,” says Williams, “and it’s a pure uncut chunk of anti-authoritarian preach-speak set to a condescending guitar riff that could only be born from the dirty streets of New Orleans. We can’t wait for everyone to hear the full record, but for now, put on your gas masks, lock your doors, stay home and LISTEN!”

Check out “Fake What’s Yours” below:

Eyehategod’s new album, A History of Nomadic Behavior, drops March 12th via Century Media, and is available for preorder. Check out the full tracklisting and cover art below:

  1. Built Beneath The Lies
  2. The Outer Banks
  3. Fake What’s Yours
  4. Three Black Eyes
  5. Current Situation
  6. High Risk Trigger
  7. Anemic Robotic
  8. The Day Felt Wrong
  9. The Trial of Johnny Cancer
  10. Smoker’s Piece
  11. Circle of Nerves
  12. Every Thing, Every Day


Words by Chris Krovatin