Queens of the Stone Age Announce Charity Performance Stream For Fifth Anniversary of Paris Attacks

Photo via Wikipedia

Five years ago this month, terrorists from the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant (ISIL) killed 90 people at an Eagles of Death Metal show at Le Bataclan in Paris. Now, to honor the victims of this tragedy, and to raise money for worthy causes, Cali desert rockers Queens of the Stone Age have announced that they’ll be streaming a live performance on the fifth anniversary of the attacks.

QOTSA will be streaming footage from their August 2019 acoustic set from the Museum of Old and New Art in Tasmania. The stream seeks to bring awareness to and garner donations for two charities, The Nick Alexander Memorial Trust and Life For Paris.

“This show was originally to benefit the Children’s Hospital of Hobart, Tasmania, and we’re pleased it has a second chance to do some good,” says QOTSA frontman Josh Homme, according to NME. “2020 is a really messed up year, and people in need need you more than ever. Donate what you can, if you can.”

“This Friday, head on over to Youtube and soak up some rock & roll goodness,” said the Nick Alexander Memorial Trust via their Facebook. “We may not be together in person but we’ll be there and we know you will too. We’re so grateful to all at team Queens of the Stone Age for their love and support and, as ever, to our dear @LifeforParis family.”

“For the 5th anniversary of the November 13, 2015 attacks, the band (whose leader Josh Man is co-founder of Eagles Of Death Metal) will broadcast this Friday on his YouTube channel a live Unreleased, calling for donations for our association,” says Life For Paris on their Facebook. “A big thank you to them for this initiative that is delighted with our fan members of this group. And see you Friday at 18 pm so. Come all and on time because the concert will be visible for a limited time! Peace, Love, Death Metal!

You can watch Queens of the Stone Age’s charity set this Friday, November 13, at noon EST, 9am PST, 5pm GMT, 6pm Paris time, via their YouTube.

***

Words by Chris Krovatin