Demon Hunter Announce Acoustic Album, Livestream Performance

Unsplash/Yvette de Wit
Published on:

Among the many Christian bands to emerge from the world of metalcore, Seattle’s Demon Hunter were always more interesting than most. Their tracks went a little harder, heavier, and more nuanced than those of their peers. That’s why it’s exciting to hear that Demon Hunter are returning in 2021 with a new album — and it’s intriguing to hear that it’s an acoustic record.

The album will be titled Songs of Death and Resurrection, and will drop March 5th, 2021. The record will feature 11 ‘resurrected’ Demon Hunter tracks, including hits like “I Am A Stone” and “Carry You Down.”

“The Demon Hunter ballad has been a defining aspect of our band since our very first album,” says vocalist/songwriter Ryan Clark about the record. “My brother and I knew that if we wanted the freedom to pursue more somber, more melodic moments of creativity, we had to set that precedent from the beginning. What we didn’t realize then was just how important these songs would become to both the band and our fans.

“The concept of an acoustic record is something we’ve been considering — and encouraged to pursue by fan — for many years. After ten studio albums, and a tour cycle that included a full acoustic set, it felt like the right time to actualize this idea. What we didn’t want to do is something we had done before. Though we’ve played many of these songs in acoustic fashion over the years, we’ve never done so with such a level of care and attention. We hope that comes across in these recordings.”

Not only that, but Demon Hunter will perform the record in its entirety on November 20th in an exclusive livestream performance, taped at Dark Horse Studios in Franklin, TN. The show will only remain up for 48 hours after airing, so fans should set their reminders and act fast to catch the show.

Songs of Death and Resurrection will drop March 5th, 2021, and is available for preorder. Tickets for the livestream can be purchased via the band’s website. Check out the album’s full cover and tracklisting below:

1. My Throat is an Open Grave (Resurrected)
2. Dead Flowers (Resurrected)
3. The Heart of a Graveyard (Resurrected)
4. Praise the Void (Resurrected)
5. Blood in the Tears (Resurrected)
6. Loneliness (Resurrected)
7. I Will Fail You (Resurrected)
8. I Am a Stone (Resurrected)
9. Deteriorate (Resurrected)
10. Carry Me Down (Resurrected)
11. The Tide Began to Rise (Resurrected)
12. My Heartstrings Come Undone (Resurrected)


Words by Chris Krovatin