Asphyx’s New Single “Botox Explosion” Is Like Getting Repeatedly Stabbed In The Face

Unsplash/Yvette de Wit
Published on:

Because they were so influential in combining doom with death metal, fans sometimes forget how awesome Asphyx are when they go fast. But though their plodding death marches are what the Dutch quartet are most known for, their speedier stuff is some of the best death metal you can hear on any given day. Case in point, Asphyx have just dropped a video for their track “Bot0x Explosion,” and man, it makes us just wanna burn this motherfucker to the ground.

As you’ll see below, the video for “Botox Explosion,” which comes off the Asphyx’s upcoming new album Necroceros (which we assume is a zombie rhino of some kind), takes on a plastic surgery horror story, with frontman Martin Van Drunen being attacked by homicidal doctors who want nothing more than to give him a facelift. But while the video is cool, the track is better, a nonstop thrashed-out riff-fest which shows exactly why Asphyx should be allow themselves to go full apeshit dickfuck more often.

“We actually wanted to film this on Sunset Boulevard in L.A., where most of the pathetic subjects of this song have their residence,” says Martin with incredible death metal panache. “But due to the pandemic, it was best not to fly over to the USA. Since it’s a fast-shredding song and written in the typical humorous death metal gore tradition, we put a few laughable elements in it. Fortunately, good old Turock in Essen was so friendly to let us film there and while we’re usually not that keen on shooting videos, with this one, we had quite some fun. Still, it is a helluva brutal tune!”

Check out “Botox Explosion” below:

Asphyx’s Necroceros comes out January 22, 2021, and is available for preorder. Check out the full tracklisting and cover art below:

  1. The Sole Cure is Death
  2. Molten Black Earth
  3. Mount Skull
  4. Knights Templar Stand
  5. Three Years of Famine
  6. Botox Implosion
  7. In Blazing Oceans
  8. The Nameless Elite
  9. Yield or Die
  10. Necroceros


Words by Chris Krovatin