Killer Be Killed (Mastodon, Soulfly, Converge) Drop New Single, “Dream Gone Bad”

Unsplash/Yvette de Wit
Published on:

It feels inevitable that Killer Be Killed were going to rule. Given that the band is made up of Soulfly’s Max Cavalera, Mastodon’s Tory Sanders, Dillinger Escape Plan’s Greg Puciato, and Converge’s Ben Koller, one had to assume that this project would bring the thunder. That said, supergroups have sucked in the past, so the fact that Killer Be Killed are as good as they are is heartwarming (in a brutal, metal way, of course). Case in point, the band just released their new single “Dream Gone Bad,” and man, it’s sick.

From the outset, “Dream Gone Bad” feels like it leans more in the Mastodon-y direction, what with its forward-surging riff and ethereal vibe. But what makes the song especially exciting is that it uses all three of its vocalists, with Troy’s otherworldly moans, Max’s spit-flecked snarls, and Greg’s maniac shrieks each adding to the texture of the track. Weirdly enough, while someone well-versed in each of those musicians’ catalogs could pick their vocals out of the mix, a newcomer might mistake them for three different styles from one multi-talented vocalist. All of this gives “Dream Gone Bad” an impressive depth, which only adds to the fact that it’s just a cool-as-fuck metal song.

Listen to Killer Be Killed’s “Dream Gone Bad” below:

Killer Be Killed’s new album Reluctant Hero comes out November 20th via Nuclear Blast, and is available for preorder. Produced by Josh Wilbur (Lamb of God, Gojira), the album is the long-awaited follow-up to 2014’s self-titled debut, and was first announced via the single “Deconstructing Self-Destruction.”

“This has been a long time coming. It feels great to be getting this out,” said Puciato. “Also can I say that Troy’s verse vocals are fucking insane? What an entrance. Go for a drive and roll the windows down and crank this thing up.”

Check out a full tracklisting and cover art below:

  1. Deconstructing Self-Destruction
  2. Dream Gone Bad
  3. Left Of Center
  4. Inner Calm From Outer Storms
  5. Filthy Vagabond
  6. From A Crowded Wound
  7. The Great Purge
  8. Comfort From Nothing
  9. Animus
  10. Dead Limbs
  11. Reluctant Hero


Words by Chris Krovatin