Puscifer Announce New Album, Release Ethereal First Single

Unsplash/Yvette de Wit
Published on:

Leave it to Maynard James Keenan to make a record-release announcement more bizarre than anything else one has heard this week. Today, the Tool frontman’s side-project/view into his soul Puscifer announced a new album alongside the record’s first single, both of which go hard on the extraterrestrial.

Puscifer announced their new release with the following statement:

“Reports out of Jerome, Ariz., confirm the impending arrival of Existential Reckoning, a 12-song album from the special agents operating under the code name Puscifer. The release is scheduled for an October 30th arrival via Alchemy Recordings/Puscifer Entertainment/BMG.

“In a report to commanding officted, the trio said, ‘In the Summer of 2016, we received a call from Hildy Berger, Billy D’s loving wife. [REDACTED]. Billy D, rumoured to have been carrying nothing but a bottle of wine and a mysterious briefcase, had disappeared without a trace somewhere in the high deserts of the Southwestern United States.

“’Rumours of alien abduction were at the forefront throughout the dark web chatter. Therefore traditional methods of tracking a lost and hopeless drunkard in a dirty leisure suit were not an option. [REDACTED]. We hypothesized the only way to locate the subject was to [REDACTED] construct traversable bridges between intuition and technology, requiring us to explore the metaphorical mycelium between Math and Passion, Art and Order, and Hope and Proof. Through these methods redacted we are able to pinpoint the exact location of both Billy D and the mysterious briefcase.’”

With the announcement of Existential Reckoning comes the album’s first single, “The Underwhelming.” The track is a spooky California-rock track that sounds like a chorus of space angels sending a transmission back to their planet about what they’ve observed while partying in the desert just outside of LA. Listen below:

Existential Reckoning comes out October 30th via Alchemy Recordings/Puscifer Entertainment/BMG, and is available for preorder. Check out the tracklisting and cover art below:

  1. Bread and Circus
  2. Apocalyptical
  3. The Underwhelming
  4. Grey Area 5.1
  5. Theorem
  6. UPGrade
  7. Bullet Train To Iowa
  8. Personal Prometheus
  9. A Singularity
  10. Postulous
  11. Fake Affront
  12. Bedlamite


Words by Chris Krovatin