Watch Metallica’s Symphonic Performance of “Moth Into Flame” From ‘S&M2’

Published on:

Last month, Metallica announced that they’d be releasing a live album and documentary surrounding ‘S&M2,’ their recent performance with the San Francisco Symphony in honor of the 20th anniversary of their legendary S&M album. Now, video from that documentary of the band performing “Moth Into Flame” has surfaced.

Check out the epic performance below:

Hell YES.

Metallica and San Francisco Symphony: S&M2 comes out August 28th, and is already available for preorder. Fans can own the album and/or video in several different iterations, which are outlined below.


  • Deluxe Box (limited edition 4LP color vinyl, exclusive photobook, 2CDs, Blu-ray, sheet music, five guitar picks, poster, download card)
  • Super Deluxe Box (all of the above + original sheet music signed by the band. Limited to 500 via
  • Black 4LP set w/photobook and download card
  • Color 4LP set w/photobook and download card (exclusive to indie retail +
  • 2CD set w/36-page booklet
  • 2CD/Blu-ray set w/36-page booklet
  • 2CD/DVD set w/36-page booklet
  • Blu-Ray
  • DVD
  • Digital Album
  • Digital Movie

Track listing:

CD 1

01. The Ecstasy of Gold (Live)
02. The Call of Ktulu (Live)
03. For Whom the Bell Tolls (Live)
04. The Day That Never Comes (Live)
05. The Memory Remains (Live)
06. Confusion (Live)
07. Moth Into Flame (Live)
08. The Outlaw Torn (Live)
09. No Leaf Clover (Live)
10. Halo on Fire (Live)

CD 2

01. Intro to Scythian Suite (Live)
02. Scythian Suite, Opus 20 II: The Enemy God And The Dance Of The Dark Spirits (Live)
03. Intro to The Iron Foundry (Live)
04. The Iron Foundry, Opus 19 (Live)
05. The Unforgiven III (Live)
06. All Within My Hands (Live)
07. (Anesthesia) – Pulling Teeth (Live)
08. Wherever I May Roam (Live)
09. One (Live)
10. Master of Puppets (Live)
11. Nothing Else Matters (Live)
12. Enter Sandman (Live)

DVD / Blu-ray

01. Menu (features “Moth Into Flame”)
02. Intro (features “Wherever I May Roam” and “All Within My Hands”)
03. The Ecstasy of Gold (Live)
04. The Call of Ktulu (Live)
05. For Whom the Bell Tolls (Live)
06. The Day That Never Comes (Live)
07. The Memory Remains (Live)
08. Confusion (Live)
09. Moth Into Flame (Live)
10. The Outlaw Torn (Live)
11. No Leaf Clover (Live)
12. Halo on Fire (Live)
13. Intro to Scythian Suite (Live)
14. Scythian Suite, Opus 20 II: The Enemy God And The Dance Of The Dark Spirits (Live)
15. Intro to The Iron Foundry (Live)
16. The Iron Foundry, Opus 19 (Live)
17. The Unforgiven III (Live)
18. All Within My Hands (Live)
19. (Anesthesia) – Pulling Teeth (Live)
20. Wherever I May Roam (Live)
21. One (Live)
22. Master of Puppets (Live)
23. Nothing Else Matters (Live)
24. Enter Sandman (Live)
25. Credits
26. Behind the Scenes: Making of the Show
27. All Within My Hands Promo

LP 1 / Side One

01. The Ecstasy of Gold
02. The Call of Ktulu
03. For Whom the Bell Tolls

LP 1 / Side Two

01. The Day that Never Comes
02. The Memory Remains
03. Confusion

LP 2 / Side Three

01. Moth Into Flame
02. The Outlaw Torn

LP 2 / Side Four

01. No Leaf Clover
02. Halo on Fire

LP 3 / Side Five

01. Intro to Scythian Suite
02. Scythian Suite, Opus 20 II: The Enemy God and the Dance of the Dark Spirits
03. Intro to The Iron Foundry
04. The Iron Foundry, Opus 19
05. The Unforgiven III

LP 3 / Side Six

01. All Within My Hands
02. (Anesthesia) – Pulling Teeth
03. Wherever I May Roam

LP 4 / Side Seven

01. One
02. Master of Puppets

LP 4 / Side Eight

01. Nothing Else Matters
02. Enter Sandman

Digital Film

01. Intro (features “Wherever I May Roam” and “All Within My Hands”)
02. The Ecstasy of Gold (Live)
03. The Call of Ktulu (Live)
04. For Whom the Bell Tolls (Live)
05. The Day That Never Comes (Live)
06. The Memory Remains (Live)
07. Confusion (Live)
08. Moth Into Flame (Live)
09. The Outlaw Torn (Live)
10. No Leaf Clover (Live)
11. Halo on Fire (Live)
12. Intro to Scythian Suite (Live)
13. Scythian Suite, Opus 20 II: The Enemy God And The Dance Of The Dark Spirits (Live)
14. Intro to The Iron Foundry (Live)
15. The Iron Foundry, Opus 19 (Live)
16. The Unforgiven III (Live)
17. All Within My Hands (Live)
18. (Anesthesia) – Pulling Teeth (Live)
19. Wherever I May Roam (Live)
20. One (Live)
21. Master of Puppets (Live)
22. Nothing Else Matters (Live)
23. Enter Sandman (Live)
24. Credits


Words by Chris Krovatin