Video: Masked Metallica Rehearse “Creeping Death”

Published on:

Given how difficult it is to bitch at your drummer via a Zoom meeting, quarantine is rough on band rehearsals. But sometimes, you’ve just got to throw on a mask and get together, especially if your band is, I don’t know, the biggest metal band in the world. That’s why it’s heartwarming to see this recent footage posted of the dudes in Metallica — wearing masks, mind you — rehearsing at their California headquarters.

In the video, the band are practicing the Ride The Lightning classic “Creeping Death” at their rehearsal space in San Rafael, California, with everyone except vocalist James Hetfield wearing a face mask. While it’s not clear if they’re getting ready for any specific event, it’s still awesome to see the four horsemen jamming on one of their most powerful tunes during what are obviously uncertain and harrowing times.

Watch Metallica keep their edges razor-sharp below:

Right the fuck on, boys.

While Metallica don’t have any live events planned — no one does, honestly — they are promoting the live album and documentary of S&M2, their massive performance with the San Francisco Symphony in honor of the 20th anniversary of S&M.  The band recently released a video for their performance of “Moth Into Flame.” Check it out:

Metallica and San Francisco Symphony: S&M2 comes out August 28th, and is already available for preorder. Fans can own the album and/or video in several different iterations, which are outlined below.


  • Deluxe Box (limited edition 4LP color vinyl, exclusive photobook, 2CDs, Blu-ray, sheet music, five guitar picks, poster, download card)
  • Super Deluxe Box (all of the above + original sheet music signed by the band. Limited to 500 via
  • Black 4LP set w/photobook and download card
  • Color 4LP set w/photobook and download card (exclusive to indie retail +
  • 2CD set w/36-page booklet
  • 2CD/Blu-ray set w/36-page booklet
  • 2CD/DVD set w/36-page booklet
  • Blu-Ray
  • DVD
  • Digital Album
  • Digital Movie

Track listing:

CD 1

01. The Ecstasy of Gold (Live)
02. The Call of Ktulu (Live)
03. For Whom the Bell Tolls (Live)
04. The Day That Never Comes (Live)
05. The Memory Remains (Live)
06. Confusion (Live)
07. Moth Into Flame (Live)
08. The Outlaw Torn (Live)
09. No Leaf Clover (Live)
10. Halo on Fire (Live)

CD 2

01. Intro to Scythian Suite (Live)
02. Scythian Suite, Opus 20 II: The Enemy God And The Dance Of The Dark Spirits (Live)
03. Intro to The Iron Foundry (Live)
04. The Iron Foundry, Opus 19 (Live)
05. The Unforgiven III (Live)
06. All Within My Hands (Live)
07. (Anesthesia) – Pulling Teeth (Live)
08. Wherever I May Roam (Live)
09. One (Live)
10. Master of Puppets (Live)
11. Nothing Else Matters (Live)
12. Enter Sandman (Live)

DVD / Blu-ray

01. Menu (features “Moth Into Flame”)
02. Intro (features “Wherever I May Roam” and “All Within My Hands”)
03. The Ecstasy of Gold (Live)
04. The Call of Ktulu (Live)
05. For Whom the Bell Tolls (Live)
06. The Day That Never Comes (Live)
07. The Memory Remains (Live)
08. Confusion (Live)
09. Moth Into Flame (Live)
10. The Outlaw Torn (Live)
11. No Leaf Clover (Live)
12. Halo on Fire (Live)
13. Intro to Scythian Suite (Live)
14. Scythian Suite, Opus 20 II: The Enemy God And The Dance Of The Dark Spirits (Live)
15. Intro to The Iron Foundry (Live)
16. The Iron Foundry, Opus 19 (Live)
17. The Unforgiven III (Live)
18. All Within My Hands (Live)
19. (Anesthesia) – Pulling Teeth (Live)
20. Wherever I May Roam (Live)
21. One (Live)
22. Master of Puppets (Live)
23. Nothing Else Matters (Live)
24. Enter Sandman (Live)
25. Credits
26. Behind the Scenes: Making of the Show
27. All Within My Hands Promo

LP 1 / Side One

01. The Ecstasy of Gold
02. The Call of Ktulu
03. For Whom the Bell Tolls

LP 1 / Side Two

01. The Day that Never Comes
02. The Memory Remains
03. Confusion

LP 2 / Side Three

01. Moth Into Flame
02. The Outlaw Torn

LP 2 / Side Four

01. No Leaf Clover
02. Halo on Fire

LP 3 / Side Five

01. Intro to Scythian Suite
02. Scythian Suite, Opus 20 II: The Enemy God and the Dance of the Dark Spirits
03. Intro to The Iron Foundry
04. The Iron Foundry, Opus 19
05. The Unforgiven III

LP 3 / Side Six

01. All Within My Hands
02. (Anesthesia) – Pulling Teeth
03. Wherever I May Roam

LP 4 / Side Seven

01. One
02. Master of Puppets

LP 4 / Side Eight

01. Nothing Else Matters
02. Enter Sandman

Digital Film

01. Intro (features “Wherever I May Roam” and “All Within My Hands”)
02. The Ecstasy of Gold (Live)
03. The Call of Ktulu (Live)
04. For Whom the Bell Tolls (Live)
05. The Day That Never Comes (Live)
06. The Memory Remains (Live)
07. Confusion (Live)
08. Moth Into Flame (Live)
09. The Outlaw Torn (Live)
10. No Leaf Clover (Live)
11. Halo on Fire (Live)
12. Intro to Scythian Suite (Live)
13. Scythian Suite, Opus 20 II: The Enemy God And The Dance Of The Dark Spirits (Live)
14. Intro to The Iron Foundry (Live)
15. The Iron Foundry, Opus 19 (Live)
16. The Unforgiven III (Live)
17. All Within My Hands (Live)
18. (Anesthesia) – Pulling Teeth (Live)
19. Wherever I May Roam (Live)
20. One (Live)
21. Master of Puppets (Live)
22. Nothing Else Matters (Live)
23. Enter Sandman (Live)
24. Credits


Words by Chris Krovatin