Spirit Adrift Announce New Album, Drop Ripping First Single

Published on:

When Nate Garrett of Arizona’s galloping doom act Spirit Adrift told us he had a big album reveal in his online announcement earlier this week, we knew it was going to be good, because, well, new Spirit Adrift is always good. But we’re not sure we knew it was going to be THIS good.

First, Spirit Adrift has officially announced their new album Enlightened In Eternity, due out October 16 on Century Media. More importantly, the band have dropped the first single from that record, titled “Harmony of the Spheres,” and oh my God, it’s epic metal perfection. Galloping riffs, air-guitar-along solos, and a momentum that makes one feel like a character straight out of Heavy Metal Magazine.

Listen to “Harmony of the Spheres” below. Listen, damn you:


Says Garrett of making the album, “I wrote the songs on Enlightened In Eternity before my life fell apart, and from the beginning I set out to make this our most uplifting and empowering album. I’m glad I did that, because ironically enough, these songs helped me keep going when things got bad. I’m proud of the work Marcus put in, I’m proud of these songs, and I’m proud of how we navigated the entire experience. This is the most challenging record I’ve ever made, and it’s my favorite record I’ve ever made. I hope it helps others the way it helped me.

“Making a Spirit Adrift album is always intense, but Chained to Oblivion and Curse of Conception dealt with issues from my past, and Divided by Darkness dealt with external issues from more of a philosophical perspective, so there was a bit of a protective layer of detachment between the material and myself,” he continues. “On the other hand, when Marcus and I recorded Enlightened In Eternity, we were in the middle of a lot of intense emotional upheaval  — hour to hour, minute to minute. Some days it took everything I had to keep working, particularly when it was time to record vocals. From a technical standpoint, things couldn’t have gone smoother. But from an emotional standpoint, it was brutal. The silver lining is that our hearts and souls are embedded into this record with a raw immediacy and urgency that’s unmatched by our previous material.”

Buy, like, 27 copies of Spirit Adrift’s Enlightened In Eternity on October 16th, and is available for preorder at 20 Buck Spin’s website and Bandcamp. Check out the full tracklisting and bitching cover art below:

1.  Ride into the Light
2.  Astral Levitation
3.  Cosmic Conquest
4.  Screaming from Beyond
5.  Harmony of the Spheres
6.  Battle High
7.  Stronger Than Your Pain
8.  Reunited in the Void


Words by Chris Krovatin