Linkin Park Reveal Previously Unreleased Track, “She Couldn’t”

Published on:

Few if any of the rock and metal world’s tragic losses in the past decade could equal that of Chester Bennington, vocalist for Linkin Park. And yet, this year also marks a celebration for the band, with October marking the 20th anniversary of their massive debut album Hybrid Theory. To honor this event, Linkin Park are releasing a special edition of the album, complete with a CD of B-sides, rarities — and the demo of a previously unreleased song.

The track is called “She Couldn’t,” and features some of Linkin Park’s classic old-school sound. This one goes a little more chill and introspective, a vibe that the band would push harder and hard in later years. More than anything, it’s chilling but also heartwarming to hear Chester’s vocals on a new track.

Listen to “She Couldn’t below:

Linkin Park’s 20th-anniversary edition of Hybrid Theory comes out October 9 via Warner Records, and is available for preorder at the band’s website. The new edition will be available in various formats, including CD and vinyl box sets, so check out your options below:

Super deluxe box set:

5 CDs

1. Hybrid Theory
2. Reanimation
3. B-Side Rarities
4. LPU Rarities
5. Forgotten Demos

3 DVDs

1. Frat Party At The Pankake Festival
2. Live Projekt Revolution 2002 (never-before-released)
3. Live At The Fillmore 2001 // Live At Rock Am Ring 2001

3 LPs

1. Hybrid Theory
2. Reanimation
3. Hybrid Theory EP


80-page book featuring contributions from the band and previously unseen photos
Cassette reproduction of original 2-track street team sampler
18×24 Poster of Chester Bennington
3 Lithographs featuring new art by Mike Shinoda, Joe Hahn, and Frank Maddocks
Replica tour laminate

Super deluxe vinyl set:

3 LPs

1. Hybrid Theory
2. Reanimation
3. B-Side Rarities

Side A

1. One Step Closer (Rock Mix)
2. It’s Goin’ Down
3. Papercut (Live from the BBC)
4. In The End (Live BBC Radio One)
5. Points Of Authority (Live BBC Radio One)
6. High Voltage

Side B

7. Step Up (1999 Demo)
8. My December
9. A Place For My Head (Live at Docklands Arena, London)
10. Points Of Authority (Live at Docklands Arena, London)
11. Papercut (Live at Docklands Arena, London)
12. Buy Myself Remix (Marilyn Manson)

Deluxe CD:


1. Hybrid Theory
2. B-Side Rarities


All audio tracks on the album will be available to stream or download


Words by Chris Krovatin