Blue Öyster Cult Drop Two Singles From Their First New Album In 19 Years

Unsplash/Yvette de Wit
Published on:

In the annals of hard rock history, Blue Öyster Cult have a very special place. The band’s big singles like “Burning For You” are the one side of the coin, while “Godzilla” and “Nosferatu” are on the other, more shadowy face, with the monumental “Don’t Fear The Reaper” looming above it all. Now, after 19 years, Blue Öyster Cult are returning with a new studio album, and have released the first two singles thereon.

The new Blue Öyster Cult album is titled The Symbol Remains, and the first two singles “That Was Me’ and “Box In My Head” are available to stream below. The former has a spunky, mischievous vibe that’s reminiscent of “Prince Charming” off of Metallica’s o

“With the song demos emerging for this record, we realized there was as much if not more variety in style and content on this record as any in our history,” explained vocalist and keyboardist Eric Bloom. “We embraced this and the thing tying all the disparate elements together is the band’s sound and performance.”

“The goal was for the new music to stand up to the quality and vitality of our legacy recordings, and I believe we have successfully done that,” said guitarist/vocalist Donald “Buck Dharma” Roeser. “Other than that, the sound of our voices and style of our writing and playing can’t help but sound familiar to fans of our work.”

Listen to Blue Öyster Cult’s new tracks below:

The Symbol Remains comes out October 9th. Check out the full tracklisting and cover art below.

01. That Was Me
02. Box In My Head
03. Tainted Blood
04. Nightmare Epiphany<
05. Edge Of The World
06. The Machine
07. Train True (Lennie’s Song)
08. The Return Of St. Cecilia
09. Stand And Fight
10. Florida Man
11. The Alchemist
12. Secret Road
13. There’s A Crime
14. Fight