Behemoth Will Livestream A Concert From Inside A Church

photo by Grzegorz Gołębiowski

Few if any contemporary band goes come off as utterly dedicated to satanism as Polish death metallers Behemoth. Rather than just wear the trappings of enemies of God, the band go all-in on their spiritual rebellion. Now, Nergal and Co. are using quarantine to host a special, immersive livestreamed concert event — from inside a church.

Behemoth will host ‘In Absentia Dei’ from a secret church location in Poland on September 5th. Part of this event will be an immersive experience in which viewers can choose from one of eight cameras stationed around the band to watch the show as they see fit, as well as check out a ‘Director’s Cut’ of the performance. Hopefully, one of these cameras will be positioned overhead, so that the audience can experience what it’s like to be God staring down at these Polish death metallers giving Him the armor-clad middle finger.

Also ‘appearing’ at the show will be experimentalists Imperial Triumphant, who will be streaming their set from The Slipper Room in New York.

“We bring a new offering for our faithful Legions!” said frontman Nergal in a statement. “You’ve seen Behemoth in many places across the globe, but never before in the Holy Church. This is a truly innovative event of which the likes have not been seen before. There will be ritual, there will be sacrilege and all from the comfort of your home. A worldwide streamed event for A New Aeon indeed! In Absentia Dei.”

‘In Absentia Dei’ will feature an hour-long pre-show that can be watched for free at the band’s YouTube channel, but the night itself kicks off at 7 p.m. CET / 6 p.m. UK / 1 p.m. EST / 10 a.m. PST, with the full two-hour show beginning at 8 p.m. CET / 7 p.m. UK / 2 p.m. EST / 11 a.m. PST. Tickets for the event are already available for purchase.

Behemoth present to you; ‘In Absentia Dei’. We welcome you to join us for an event like no other! This is an offering to…

Posted by BEHEMOTH! on Friday, August 21, 2020

***

Words by Chris Krovatin