See Striking Video for Greg Puciato’s New Solo Song “Do You Need Me to Remind You?”

Unsplash/Yvette de Wit
Published on:

Former Dillinger Escape Plan and current the Black Queen frontman Greg Puciato has dropped his third solo song, the epic, post-metal-inflected “Do You Need Me to Remind You?” and announced his first-ever solo album, Child Soldier: Creator of God, for an October 23rd release. The song arrives paired with an intense, black-and-white music video capturing Puciato and Poison the Well’s Chris Hornbrook, who drums on the track, throwing down in a gritty industrial space. Check it out below.

Child Soldier: Creator of God is available for pre-order now as a 2LP, along with a limited-edition T-shirt and hoodie, via Puciato’s own label Federal Prisoner. “Do You Need Me to Remind You?” is available as a vinyl single, with unique variants and bonus tracks. The album, which will also be released digitally, was produced by Nick Rowe (Vampire Weekend, Haim) and mixed by Steve Evetts (the Dillinger Escape Plan, the Cure). It features drumming by Hornbrook, Ben Koller (Converge, Mutoid Man, All Pigs Must Die, Killer Be Killed, etc.) and Chris Pennie (the Dillinger Escape Plan, Coheed and Cambria).

“I’d been writing for so many different projects, Dillinger, then the Black Queen, and Killer Be Killed … and I just kept on writing,” Puciato said of the album, for which he sang and played all the instruments except for drums. “It felt as if I had more to say, but nothing that necessarily filled the script of those bands, so I ended up with something that I found to be intensely personal and super satisfying, but also confusing as far as what to do with it. When I realized that it was a solo release, it was sort of an ‘oh, that’s interesting’ moment, both terrifying and exciting at once, and challenging, and new, and that combo is almost always a good sign, so I committed to it. It’s important to continue taking risks in order to grow both your creativity and your future possibilities, to create new avenues and freedoms for yourself, and it also felt like a good time for me to integrate and own everything that I am into one thing, without fragmentation or limitation. I needed to come out from telling myself that I always have to be ‘guy in a band,’ and to release this as my own name.”

See the cover art to the digital edition of Child Soldier: Creator of God and the album’s track listing below.

Child Soldier: Creator of God track listing:
1. Heavy of Stone
2. Creator of God
3. Fire for Water
4. Deep Set
5. Temporary Object
6. Fireflies
7. Do You Need Me to Remind You?
8. Roach Hiss
9. Down When I’m Not
10. You Know I Do
11. Through the Walls
12. A Pair of Questions
13. Evacuation
14. Heartfree
15. September City