Napalm Death Announce New Album ‘Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism’

Photo by Gobinder Jhitta
Published on:

Grindcore legends Napalm Death have announced their forthcoming new full-length, Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism — the follow-up to 2015’s critically acclaimed Apex Predator – Easy Meat LP — which is set to be released on September 18th via Century Media Records. The 12-track album was recorded with the extreme-metal pioneers’ longtime producer Russ Russell and features striking artwork by Frode Sylthe. According to Napalm Death vocalist Mark “Barney” Greenway, the LP’s title connects with its greater theme.

“The phrase sticking in my mind when I started thinking about the lyrical direction for this album was ‘the other,’” he explained. “You could recognise at the time that there was a rapidly growing fear and paranoia being generated about everybody, from migrating people to people with fluid sexuality and this was starting to manifest itself in very antagonistic reactions that you felt were almost verging on violence. Not everybody resorts to such reactions of course, but even the basic lack of understanding can become toxic over time. I’m not saying that this is an entirely new phenomenon, but it has been stoked in recent history by some particularly attack-minded people in more political circles and, as ever, I felt that it would be the natural antidote to endorse basic humanity and solidarity with all.”

As for the grisly cover image of a bloodied dove clutched in a gloved hand, Greenway said, “The artwork specifically uses a white dove as a centrepiece, which of course is a commonly recognised symbol of peace and cooperation. The dove has been mauled very violently by a sterilising hand and in death appears particularly broken and bloodied. However, through the violence you can see an equality symbol in blood on the chest of the dove, which perhaps demonstrates — visually at least — that equality cuts through in the end. A positive amidst many negatives then, much like the album title itself being a bit of an oxymoron – the celebration of humanity even in the mangling jaws of negativity.”

The lead single off Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism is expected to premiere on July 24th, when pre-orders will also become available. See the cover art and track listing below.

Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism track list:
1. F**k the Factoid
2. Backlash Just Because
3. That Curse of Being in Thrall
4. Contagion
5. Joie De Ne Pas Vivre
6. Invigorating Clutch
7. Zero Gravitas Chamber
8. Fluxing of the Muscle
9. Amoral
10. Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism
11. Acting in Gouged Faith
12. A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen

Want more head-banging content?
Join our email list to get the best metal news and content delivered right to your inbox daily.
By submitting my information, I agree to receive personalized updates and marketing messages from The Pit based on my information, interests, activities, website visits and device data and in accordance with the Privacy Policy. I understand that I can opt-out at any time by emailing