Mastodon Debut New Song With Neurosis’ Scott Kelly, Announce Rarities Collection

Photo by Jimmy Hubbard

Mastodon are one of the most important active bands in heavy music, and this year they will be turning 20, an anniversary they plan to commemorate with a just-announced rarities compilation, cleverly titled Medium Rarities. The 16-track collection will assemble cover songs, soundtrack contributions, instrumentals, live recordings and previously unreleased originals including the LP’s lead single, “Fallen Torches.” Originally planned to be released in conjunction with a European tour, the track was delayed after the death of the group’s long-time manager Nick John, to whom they paid tribute with the Led Zeppelin cover “Stairway to Nick John.” Finally seeing the light of day, “Fallen Torches” is a all-out rager boasting guest vocals from Mastodon’s frequent collaborator Scott Kelly of Neurosis.

Medium Rarities is due out on September 11th, with a pink vinyl 2LP edition is set for release later, on October 16th. The album is available for pre-order now along with a gratis download of “Fallen Torches.” Check out the cover art and track listing below.

Mastodon fans, look out for even more coming soon: Another new song, “Rufus Lives,” will be included in the highly anticipated upcoming movie Bill & Ted Face The Music.

Medium Rarities track listing:
1. Fallen Torches (Previously Unreleased)
2. A Commotion (Feist Cover)
3. Asleep in the Deep (Instrumental version)
4. Capillarian Crest (Live)
5. A Spoonful Weighs A Ton (The Flaming Lips Cover)
6. Toe To Toes (Instrumental version)
7. Circle of Cysquatch (Live)
8. Atlanta (Butthole Surfers Cover)
9. Jaguar God (Instrumental)
10. Cut You Up With A Linoleum Life (Aqua Teen Hunger Force)
11. Blood & Thunder (Live)
12. White Walker (from Game of Thrones mix tape)
13. Halloween (Instrumental version)
14. Crystal Skull (Live)
15. Orion (Metallica Cover)
16. Iron Tusk (Live)