Hear Napalm Death’s Raging, “Barkfest” New Song “Backlash Just Because”

photo by Gobinder Jhitta
Published on:

Birmingham, U.K.-based grindcore pioneers Napalm Death have released the first single and lyric video from the highly-anticipated new album. Check out the raging “Backlash Just Because” below.

Napalm Death vocalist Mark “Barney” Greenway said of the track: “This song in particular really spurred me on when I was writing lyrics for the album overall. It’s raucous and traditional, but also quirky and discordant and ultimately catchy-as-anything in the context of rampaging noise.

“Lyrically it was directed at the spiteful art of creating easy targets and fomenting paranoia and revulsion, which is something that I feel has become de rigueur in very recent times. I really let loose on the more sporadic vocals at the end of the song – it’s a real barkfest at that point. Lovely.”

After recently announcing their first album in five years (and follow-up to the 2015 critically-acclaimed Apex Predator – Easy Meat) — Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism — arrives September 18th via Century Media Records. This will be the sixteenth studio album by Napalm Death. It was once again recorded with longtime producer Russ Russell and features artwork by Frode Sylthe. More info Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism below as well.

Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism track list:
1. Fuck the Factoid
2. Backlash Just Because
3. That Curse of Being in Thrall
4. Contagion
5. Joie De Ne Pas Vivre
6. Invigorating Clutch
7. Zero Gravitas Chamber
8. Fluxing of the Muscle
9. Amoral
10. Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism
11. Acting in Gouged Faith
12. A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen

You can pre-order Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism in various formats here.