Hear Greg Puciato’s Raging New Song “Roach Hiss”

Unsplash/Yvette de Wit
Published on:

Former the Dillinger Escape Plan and current the Black Queen and Killer Be Killed member Greg Puciato has released another raging, fiery single off his upcoming solo album. “Roach Hiss,” the fourth release from the Los Angeles-based musician showcases yet another approach to his abrasive, chaotic and sinister side. Plus, Converge’s Ben Koller is the man behind the drumkit on this one. Check it out below.

“We’re all God,” he says. “You can create the universe that you want. You just might have to take things that you might’ve thought of as struggles or hindrances and use them to your advantage.”

The wildly eclectic frontman also discussed his desire to create the 15-song release: “Not being married to band members means not having to compromise. But that also means that you’re not able to benefit from where that compromise might take you – which is often a thing you wouldn’t have thought of yourself. But the flipside is being able to do whatever the fuck you want.”

To that end, the vocalist performed all instruments on his upcoming solo album, Child Soldier: Creator of God with the exception of drums, which were played by Ben Koller, (ex-Dillinger’s) Chris Pennie and (Poison the Well’s) Chris Hornbrook. Child Soldier: Creator of God was produced by Nick Rowe (Vampire Weekend, Haim) and mixed by Steve Evetts (the Dillinger Escape Plan, the Cure). In addition, the album is due to release October 23rd via Puciato’s record label, Federal Prisoner.

A black vinyl variant, which is limited to 1,000 copies and close to sold out, as well as digital pre-orders, are available via Federalprisoner.bandcamp.com. Puciato also partnered with our friends over at Revolver on a highly limited (500 piece), exclusive bundle featuring a 180-gram white vinyl 2LP variant of Child Soldier that also features an alternate black on black cover and a “Roach Hiss” swamp green 7-inch single featuring artwork from Puciato and Federal Prisoner collaborator Jesse Draxler (Nine Inch Nails, Chelsea Wolfe, Daughters, Poppy and others). You can pick that collab up here.