See Epic Trailer for Triptykon’s New Live Album ‘Requiem (Live at Roadburn 2019)’

Unsplash/Yvette de Wit
Published on:

Earlier this month, Swiss avant-metal trailblazers Triptykon — led by Tom Gabriel Warrior of Hellhammer and Celtic Frost fame — announced the impending May 15th release of their highly anticipated live album Requiem (Live at Roadburn 2019) via Prowling Death Records/Century Media Records. (Pre-orders are available now.) The LP marks the triumphant conclusion of a project that has been in the works for over three decades: the Celtic Frost/Triptykon “Requiem” performed for the first time in its entirety and with full classical orchestration. Today (March 20th), the band has offered up a trailer for the release, which features live footage of the historic performance.

“We are truly, deeply delighted to be able to have been granted the opportunity to finish this unique project begun by Celtic Frost so many years ago, and to finally share the completed recording with the world,” Warrior commented at the time of the live LP’s announcement. “This album is the result of two years of passionate work, and it marks the conclusion of a musical idea first considered over three decades ago. Moreover, this ‘Requiem’ also represents drummer Hannes Grossmann’s first recording with Triptykon, and we are very proud to feature him in such an extraordinary context. It was an incredible honor to collaborate with the Metropole Orkest, conductor Jukka Iisakkila, guest vocalist Safa Heraghi, and the esteemed Roadburn festival. In fact, there couldn’t have been a better partner for the ‘Requiem’ project than Roadburn. We are releasing this Requiem album in memoriam of our deeply missed friends and collaborators Martin Eric Ain and HR Giger.”

Requiem (Live at Roadburn 2019) will be available for pre-order starting March 20th. See the album’s main cover art — titled “Blood Angel” and was created by Daniele Valeriani — as well as the full track listing and various release formats below.

Requiem is composed of three chapters:
1. “Rex Irae” (06:34 min.) (first appeared on Celtic Frost’s 1987 album Into the Pandemonium)
2. “Grave Eternal” (32:28 min.) (newly written middle part)
3. “Winter” (06:54 min.) (first appeared on Celtic Frost’s 2006 album Monotheist)
The release will be available in the following formats:
– Special Edition CD + DVD Mediabook
– Ltd. Gatefold LP + DVD (With LP-Booklet and 2x poster)
Unlimited black 180g. vinyl and selected ltd. coloured editions:
– Standard CD Jewelcase
– Ltd. Deluxe Artbook with colored LP + CD + DVD + colored 7-inch (With bonus track, score book of 60 pages, 3x poster, art print and photocard)
– Digital album