Hear Refused, Minor Threat, Bad Religion Members Team on Fake Names’ New Song “Brick”

Unsplash/Yvette de Wit
Published on:

Formed in early 2016, Fake Names is a punk-rock supergroup featuring vocalist Dennis Lyxzén (Refused, International Noise Conspiracy, INVSN), guitarists and vocalists Brian Baker (Minor Threat, Dag Nasty, Bad Religion) and Michael Hampton (S.O.A., Embrace, One Last Wish), and bassist Johnny Temple (Girls Against Boys, Soulside). The group grew out of a casual jam session between Baker and Hampton, friends since first grade who met up at the latter’s Brooklyn home to play music together, with no plans beyond maybe writing a song or two. But when they emerged from their jam with a bunch of solid tunes, they decided to form a band, and to that end, they enlisted Temple, a fellow classmate from elementary school, to play bass in their incipient group. As for a singer, both Baker and Temple were at Chicago’s Riot Fest when they were realized the perfect man for the job: Lyxzén. The trio enlisted him and the rest is history.

Dubbed Fake Names, the punk collective are now gearing up to unleash their 28-minute self-titled debut LP on the world. The first taste of it comes in the form of lead single “Brick,” a ripping anthem with the sort of revolution-minded lyrics with which Lyxzén has made his name. Check it out below.

Fake Names was co-produced by Hampton and Geoff Sanoff and recorded at Renegade Studios, the New York City facility owned by Little Steven Van Zandt of Bruce Springsteen’s E Street Band. See the full track listing below.

Fake Names track listing:
1. All for Sale
2. Driver
3. Being Them
4. Brick
5. Darkest Days
6. Heavy Feather
7. First Everlasting
8. This Is Nothing
9. Weight
10. Lost Cause