Hear U.K. Melodic-Death Dealers Sylosis Return From Hiatus With New Ripper “I Sever”

Unsplash/Yvette de Wit
Published on:

Sylosis have been on hiatus since 2016, when frontman Josh Middleton stepped in to play guitar in Architects after the untimely death of that band’s Tom Searle. Today, the heralded U.K. melodic-death-metal outfit announced its return with a blistering new single “I Sever,” its emphatic performance-based music video, and the details of the album, Cycle of Suffering, on which the song will appear. Due February 7th, the LP was self-produced by Sylosis and mixed by Middleton. He also painted the cover art, which you can see below along with the full track listing. The band — who have a new member, Conjurer bass player Conor Marshall — are set to play their first show in four years on February 13th at London’s Islington Assembly Hall.

“After three long years, Sylosis are back!” Middleton enthused in a statement. “I want to thank all of our fans for their patience and support over these last few years. Cycle of Suffering is dedicated to them. With this new chapter, we close another. I’d like to thank Carl Parnell for his time in Sylosis. Many great memories made with him and I wish him the best in his career. Now we welcome Conor Marshall to Sylosis! Another man in another band (Conjurer) — Conor is an amazing player and complements what we do really well. A warm welcome planned for 13th February where we play our first show in over four years! We’re excited and focused. See you in 2020!”

Cycle of Suffering track listing:
01. Empty Prophets
02. I Sever
03. Cycle Of Suffering
04. Shield
05. Calcified
06. Invidia
07. Idle Hands
08. Apex Of Disdain
09. Arms Like A Noose
10. Devils In Their Eyes
11. Disintegrate
12. Abandon