Hear Tombs’ Searing New Song “Monarchy of Shadows”

Unsplash/Yvette de Wit
Published on:

Tombs mastermind Mike Hill is a true heavy-music veterans, having cut his teeth and paid his dues with bands such as Otis, Anodyne, King Generator and Versoma, as well as his solo project Vasilek. Still, Tombs remain his focus. Twelve years in, the Brooklyn-based post-black-metal outfit has newly signed to extreme-music stronghold Season of Mist. The band is set to release its first offering for the record label, the six-track EP Monarchy of Shadows, on February 28th, and they’ve offered up the title track, a slow-burning, ultimately explosive seven-and-a-half-minute epic that powerfully sets the stage for dark and evil things to come. Hear it below, and if you like what you hear, you can pre-order the full EP via Season of Mist.

“I’ve been a huge fan of Season of Mist for years, so I feel honored for Tombs to be joining the label,” Hill commented in a statement. “The rest of the guys share the same sentiments. ‘Monarchy of Shadows’ is a full on display of the new era of the band. Ferocious, brutal, but with an intense introspection. This is the best work that we’ve done to date.”

He adds, “I’m playing with excellent players who are on the same creative page and have introduced elements that weren’t obvious to me, which ended up expanding the band’s sound. I feel like the music and this incarnation of the band is a lot more powerful because there’s a personal investment from all the members. We have a label behind us that understands what we’re about aesthetically and is used to working with bands like ours. There’s a new, more thoughtful and collaborative approach to song writing and I feel that this EP is the strongest record of the band’s history. It’s another growth period for Tombs.”

Monarchy of Shadows track listing:
1. Monarchy of Shadows
2. Once Falls the Guillotine
3. Necro Alchemy
4. Man Behind the Sun
5. The Dark Rift
6. Path of Totality (Midnight Sun)