Hear Kvelertak’s Raucous New Song “Bråtebrann”

Unsplash/Yvette de Wit
Published on:

It’s been a tumultuous couple years for beloved Norwegian metal band Kvelertak. In 2018, they split with founding member and lead singer Erlend Hjelvik. “As we’ve been developing personally and professionally, our individual goals, needs and motivations have changed, leading us in different directions,” the frontman said in a heartfelt statement at the time. The band replaced him with Ivar Nikolaisen, who had previously toured with Kvelertak with his previous band Silver, as well as contributing guest vocals to the song “Blodtørst.” The group have been breaking him, playing shows and, it turns out, making new music ever since. Today, November 27th, they announced their forthcoming fourth album, Splid, which is due February 14th via their new label Rise Records, and dropped its raucous lead single, Bråtebrann,” which you can hear below.


“We are very excited that our new album Splid will be released through Rise Records and we look forward to being a part of the Rise family in the coming years,” the band said in a joint statement. “Splid (‘discord’ in English) is a deep dive into western gluttony, our own stupidity, and the abyss of the earth.”

The album, which notably features a guest spot by Mastodon’s Troy Sanders, was recorded with Converge guitarist Kurt Ballou at GodCity Studio in Salem, Massachusetts, where the group previously made their self-titled debut and it’s follow-up Meir. “Working with Kurt again has been amazing and we’re extremely happy with the production,” the band commented. “We’ve pushed ourselves to the edge this last year — musically, physically, and mentally. The result is one hour of catchy riffs, punk rock, and heavy metal influenced by a world in discord to accompany our way towards Ragnarok.”

See the album cover and track listing below.

Splid track listing:
“Crack of Doom” Feat. Troy Sanders
“Uglas hegemoni”
“Fanden ta dette hull!”
“Stevnemøte med Satan”
“Delirium tremens”
“Ved bredden av Nihil”