Hear Korn’s Massive, Two-Sided New Song “Cold”

Foto: Fred Gasch / Lizenz: Creative Commons CC-BY-SA-3.0 de
Published on:

Nu-metal godfathers Korn have dropped the pummeling, bipolar second single, “Cold,” off their forthcoming 13th album, The Nothing. Part brutal ripper, part melodic sing-along, the cut skillfully showcases the band’s multiple personalities. Crank it up below. The Nothing, which is available for pre-order now, is due on September 13th via Roadrunner Record/Elektra. Korn are currently on the road on their co-headlining summer tour with Seattle hard-rock titans Alice in Chains — see the full itinerary for that trek here, and scroll on to check out the cover art and track listing for The Nothing.

“Deep, within our Earth lives an extraordinary force,” singer Jonathan Davis says of the new album. “Very few are aware of the magnitude and significance of this place where good/evil, dark/light, bliss/torment, loss/gain and hope/despair all exist as one — pulling at us every moment of our lives. It’s not something we can choose to navigate, but rather an awareness of this ‘presence’ that surrounds us with every breath, as if we are being watched at every moment. It’s the place where black and white energies attach themselves to our souls, and shape our emotion, choices, perspective and ultimately our very existence. There is a miraculous and small realm within this vortex and it’s the only place where balance between these dynamic and polarizing forces exists — where the soul finds it refuge. Welcome to … THE NOTHING.”

The Nothing track listing:
1. The End Begins
2. Cold
3. You’ll Never Find Me
4. The Darkness Is Revealing
5. Idiosyncrasy
6. The Seduction of Indulgence
7. Finally Free
8. Can You Hear Me
9. The Ringmaster
10. Gravity of Discomfort
11. H@rd3r
12. This Loss
13. Surrender to Failure